Tokyo (東京) is one of the 47 prefectures of Japan and forms part of the Kantō region on the southeastern side of Honshu. It is the capital of Japan and houses the Emperor and the Japanese government


Originally a small fishing village named Edo (江戸), the city became a prominent political center of Japan when Shōgun Tokugawa Ieyasu made the city his headquarters in 1603. When Emperor Meiji moved the imperial seat to the city from Kyoto in 1868, Edo was renamed Tokyo, literally “the Eastern Capital”.

The Tokyo Metropolis formed in 1943 from the merger of the former Tokyo Prefecture and the city of Tokyo. While commonly referred to as a city, Tokyo is a collective entity of multiple smaller municipalities, including 23 special wards.